Kappa Kappa Iota: Nu State (California)
A Professional Organization for Educators

Nu State Chapters


Alpha is located in the San Pedro, Long Beach, Lakewood, Rancho Palos Verdes, Torrance and the surrounding areas.

Alpha was founded on May 25, 1955, organized by Ann Huddleston and held in the home of Vaughn N. Abraham. Irma Shook, National President assisted in the formating of the chapter. Then in 1966 Alpha reactivated with Sara Shaffer as President.

Maria Alicia Martinez


Epsilon is located in Fontana, San Bernardino, Upland, Loma Linda, Bloomington and surrounding area.

Epsilon was chartered February 2, 1967 by Laverne Pine. Billie Harmon was the first treasurer.

Loretta Operini - 909-882-9939


Mu is located in Redondo Beach, Torrance, and Lomita and surrounding areas.

Mu was chartered May 3, 1969 during the Second State Convention in Riverside, CA.

Jan Taylor or Marjorie Goodrich


Pi is located in Palm Springs, Cathedral City, Indio, Desert Hot Springs and surrounding areas.

Pi was chartered after 1985.

Joan Petruzzi


Xi is located in Riverside, Moreno Valley, RCC, UCR, Menifee, Murrieta San Bernardino, and Running Springs and surrounding areas.

Xi was chartered November 28, 1972 by Carolyn Brown. Xi's first President was Joan Malcolm in 1973.

Kay Palush

Zeta Eta

Zeta Eta is located in Ontario, Alta Loma, Upland and LaVerne

Zeta Eta was chartered on February 1, 1967

Carolyn Rockwood

map of chapters